Showing posts with label social network. Show all posts
Showing posts with label social network. Show all posts

Do know what can happen to Social network accounts after your Death, Have a look at this…


Facebook
  • After 10 years, Facebook will have 30 million dead users.
  • About 8,000 Facebook account users die daily.
  • There are ways to memorialize them on-line through some of the networks after death
  • The privacy laws of social network companies as well as email providers mean no one is allowed to log in as you.
  • If tried, they may force a shutdown of the account and lose what they were trying to preserve.
  • Facebook has arranged users to choose what they want to happen to your account after death.
  • Facebook tells users that they can say in advance whether they’d like to have their account memorialized or permanently deleted from Facebook in the event of their death.
  • Facebook has also offered a way for surviving family and friends to head off afterlife issues - by adding a 'legacy contact' who will have limited control of the account should you pass on.
  • After the legacy contact has posted a final message Facebook makes the profile into a memorial, where friends will not change but messages of sympathy and remembrance can be posted.
  • Any which are deemed unsuitable can be moderated by the legacy contact.

Twitter
  • Twitter allows people to request a shutdown of dead person's accounts
  • In the event of the death of a Twitter user the company says it can work with a person authorized to act on the behalf, or with a verified immediate family member of the deceased, to have an account deactivated.
  • There are also choices to request the removal of a deceased user's account, which will require you to provide information about the them, a copy of your ID, and copy of the death certificate.
  • They are clear on one thing, though - they are unable to provide account access to anyone regardless of his or her relationship to the deceased.
Instagram
  • Instagram also memorializes accounts like Facebook but there are some differences.
  • Instagram doesn’t allow anyone to log into a memorialized account, and they cannot be changed, including changes to likes, followers, tags, posts and comments.
  • Posts the deceased person shared stay on Instagram and are visible to the audience they were shared with, but memorialized accounts don't appear in public spaces like searches.
Email

  • Gmail lets you elect to shut down your account automatically after a period of inactivity
  • Gmail, as owned by Google, will allow you to apply to obtain the contents of a deceased person's email.
  • You can also set it to have an " Inactive Account Manager ," which either shares or delete your account after a set period of inactivity.
  • Yahoo also lets loved ones apply to close the account provided that they have the necessary documentation.
  • Apple's iCloud email and iTunes accounts are of different rules.
  • The corporation says: "You agree that your Account is non-transferable and that any rights to your Apple ID or Content within your Account terminate upon your death.
  • "Upon receipt of a copy of a death certificate your Account may be terminated and all Content within your Account deleted."
(Source: mirror)